Description: Stable Block
Date Listed: 15 September 1977
English Heritage Building ID: 269390
OS Grid Reference: ST1862937631
OS Grid Coordinates: 318629, 137631
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1322, -3.1643
Explore more of the area around Over Stowey, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST13NE OVER STOWEY CP
1/128 Stable block
(previously listed as Stable
Block to Quantock School)
Stable block. Circa 1857 by Henry Clutton for Henry Labouchere, the 1st (and only) Lord Taunton. Snecked local stone,
freestone dressings, triple Roman tile roofs with banding, coped verges, ashlar stacks. L-plan (formerly part of a
quadrangle, the remainder of which has been demolished); incorporates coach house, coachmans house, stables and
ornamental dovecote, Tudor-Gothic. Salient feature the dovecote, a tapering tile hung cylinder emerging from a 2-storey
cross gabled tower at north east corner, blind triangular openings overall an open wooden arcade, conical roof with a
weathervane. Remainder of single storey and attic; east front with 3 segmental carriage openings, plank doors,
chamfered piers; open loggia on 8 stone piers, giving onto stables with brick fronting. To south coachmans house, stone
mullioned windows, elaborate porch on stone pillars. C20 door. The whole ensemble is in a poor state of repair at time
of survey (January l985); some non-conforming C20 alterations, particularly the insertion of windows. Dovecote shows
the influence of William Burges with whom Clutton won first place in the Lille Cathedral Competition in 1856.
Listing NGR: ST1878237507
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.