Description: Almshouses and Raised Footway and Retaining Wall
Date Listed: 25 February 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 270242
OS Grid Reference: ST1687429829
OS Grid Coordinates: 316874, 129829
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0618, -3.1876
Explore more of the area around Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST1629 BISHOPS'S LYDEARD CP HIGH STREET (East side)
10/30 Almshouses and railed footway and
(Almshouses formerly listed)
Almshouses. 1616, restored 1854 and mid C20. Built by Sir Richard Grobham, restored by Mrs Mary Hill. Red sandstone
random rubble, slate roof, coped verges, brick stacks corbelled out at gable ends. 2-storeys, 11 bays; 2- and 3-light
red sandstone mullioned windows, single light to right of pair of segmental headed doorways between third and fourth
bays right, right-hand one slightly larger and opening onto cross passage giving access to rear with iron gate another
pair of doors between seventh and eighth bays, fith door in end bay left. C19 plank doors with ornamental hinges.
Coved string course divides the storeys. Recessed plaque above right of left-hand pair of doorways with coat or arms
and date 1616, another over cross passage entrance with inscription dated 1854. Stone flagged footway with stone setts
to channel running along front of almshouses. Low red sandstone retaining wall surmounted by iron railings. Steps to
right hand end.
Listing NGR: ST1687429829
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.