Description: East Lydeard Farmhouse
Date Listed: 4 May 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 270266
OS Grid Reference: ST1791729754
OS Grid Coordinates: 317917, 129754
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0612, -3.1727
Explore more of the area around Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST12NE BISHOP'S LYDEARD CP
East Lydeard Farmhouse
Farmhouse. C16-C17, altered and enlarged 1919. Rendered over random rubble, slate roofs with change in level either
side of gabled slightly projecting cross wing with rendered stacks to right and in right gable end, brick to left and
in left gable end; gabled wing and left return have bargeboards. Plan: 3 cell and cross passage (facing West) to right,
one room early C20 addition to left. 2-storeys, 1:1:2 bays; 2- and 3-light early C20 casements, with long, many paned
casements in 3 ground floor windows of original block, a flight of 3 steps approaches the casement in the gabled cross
wing. Early C20 plank doors to left of cross window and centre right, latter with slate roofed pentice porch on wooden
brackets (original cross passage entrance). Left return gable end carries plaque CM (Charles Morris) 1919, right return
buttressed. Interior: plank and muntin screen to right of cross passage with blocked 4 centred arch opening (plastered
over on cross passage side), chamfered beams with enriched stops, fireplace against left cross passage wall with 4
panel hollow chamfered compartment ceiling, stair turret at rear. Plank and muntin screen at East end of cross wing
room, reset perhaps, with adapted 4 panel chamfered beam ceiling, North wall seems to have been rebuilt. Jointed cruck,
and lath and plaster screens visible upstairs. (VAG Report, unpublished SRO, February 1981).
Listing NGR: ST1791729754
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.