Date Listed: 25 January 1956
English Heritage Building ID: 270952
OS Grid Reference: ST1730522655
OS Grid Coordinates: 317305, 122655
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9973, -3.1798
Explore more of the area around Bradford-on-Tone, Somerset at Explore Britain.
Farmhouse. Late medieval, C16 fireplace inserted, ceiled and rear wing added 1635.
Roughcast over cob and rubble, half hipped thatched roof, rebuilt external stone stack
right gable end, stone stack to right of cross passage, C20 brickstack rising left
gable end of wing. Plan: open hall facing west, ceiled to 3-cell and cross passage,
stairs subsequently inserted in latter, kitchen wing south-east, range of outbuildings
abutting east forming courtyard at rear. One and a half storeys, all C17 ovolo moulded
mullioned windows except for one C19 renewal, 2 gabled dormers left of entrance with C17
carved bargeboards and decorative finials, right one dated 1635,remains of moulded
surrounds,ground floor C19 mullioned casement left of entrance, two 4-light C17
casements right, buttress beyond, Tudor arch headmoulded door frame, C19 4-panel door,
thatched porch, decorative bargeboards and finial on wrought iron supports with built
in seats. Interior not seen, said to contain to left of cross passage evidence of 2
original doorways, one with stopped chamfered lintel, the other a shouldered post which
opens into room originally divided by partition set inlateral beam chamfered only on
west face; hall fireplace with moulded straight stone lintel, moulded beams,timberframed
partition to inner room, 4-panel compartment ceiling, moulded stone lintel to fireplace
with unidentified projection right, possibly stairs. Upper storey, depressed 4-centred
moulded doorframe,smoke blackened jointed crucktruss above cross passage partition, others collar beam
trusses, jointed cruck truss also in wing. A very attractive cottage retaining
an unusual amount of C17 detailing on exterior of late medieval fabic. (VA6 Reports,
unpublished SRO,October 1973 and January 1982).
Listing NGR: ST1730522655
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.