Description: Congregational Chapel
Date Listed: 25 February 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 271056
OS Grid Reference: ST2105620364
OS Grid Coordinates: 321056, 120364
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9773, -3.1258
Explore more of the area around Pitminster, Somerset at Explore Britain.
6/110 Congregational Chapel
Congregational chapel, now disused. Circa 1820, paid for by Thomas Welman of Poundisford
Park (qv) Render grooved as ashlar over rubble and brick, quoins and plinth, steeply
pitched hipped slate roof behind parapet with moulded cornice on facade, brick dentil
cornice on returns. Plan: rectangular, entered on west front, south-east vestry in
process of demolition at time of survey (March 1985). West front: 2 storeys, 2 bays;
recessed semi-circular headed window openings (boarded up), flat surrounds and sills
supported on console brackets, ground floor 2 wooden open pedimented Tuscan
Doric doorcases with stone columns, leaded fanlights, flush panelled double doors. North
front: 3 bays, first floor semi-circular headed 8-pane sash windows, ground floor
12-pane; east end 2 square headed windows containing stained glass flanking chimney;
south front inserted doorway in south-east corner on side of entrance to former vestry.
Interior not seen, said to contain timber lined roof. In poor condition at time of survey.
The Annual Report of the Somerset Congregationalist Union 1896 states that at Fulwood
"the present cause dates from 1732" and that Mr Thomas Welman paid for the building.
He died in 1827 having been a member of the Countess of Huntingdon's Connection.
(Photograph in NMR).
Listing NGR: ST2105620364
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.