Description: The Vicarage with Former Coach House Adjoining on East Front
Date Listed: 7 August 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 271078
OS Grid Reference: ST2206819153
OS Grid Coordinates: 322068, 119153
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9665, -3.1112
Explore more of the area around Pitminster, Somerset at Explore Britain.
12/137 The Vicarage with former coach
house adjoining on east front
Vicarage and coach house. Circa 1810, possibly by Richard Carver. Render over chert
random rubble south front. exposed on east front, patterned clay tile roof, overhanging
eaves, decorative barge boards, 2 clusters of 5 chimneys on central roof ridge. Plan:
irregular, main roof range runing north-south, 3 gabled east front. 2 projecting bays
on north front, south front facing onto churchyard of St Andrew and St Mary's Church(qv).
Tudor picturesque style. South front: 2 and a half storey gabled centre, 2 storeys in
outer bays, 2:1:1 bays; left hand bay set back slightly, all C19 many paned casements
under hoodmoulds with ashlar jambs, single light gable end, 3 and 2-light first floor,
3-light centre, square headed entrance to left, ribbed plank door, lean-to green house
abutting left. Right return (east front) 3 bays, linked by L-plan single storey loggia
with patterned clay tile roof to 2-storey coeval coach house and stable block adjoining
to east. Forms a good group with the Church of St Andrew and St Mary (qv).
Listing NGR: ST2206419149
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.