Description: Higher Fyfett Farmhouse
Date Listed: 18 December 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 271215
OS Grid Reference: ST2328514572
OS Grid Coordinates: 323285, 114572
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9255, -3.0929
Explore more of the area around Otterford, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST21SW OTTERFORD CP
8/47 Higher Fyfett Farmhouse
Farmhouse. Dated 1677, restored 1861, reroofed and restored 1976-80. Chert stone random rubble formerly rendered, Ham
stone dressings, renewed mullions in reconstructed stone, concrete double Roman tiled roof, stone stacks to left of
through passage and centre of cross wing, evidence of former stack at right gable end with bread oven projection. Plan:
2-cell and cross passage with 2-cell cross wing left, former dairy at rear right. Two storeys, 1:2 bays, end bay left
gable fronted with square plaque in apex inscribed in incised lettering "Built 1677 Rest. 1861", all 3-light chamfered
stone mullions without hood moulds, entrance centre right with square headed doorway, late C20 door in period style.
Reconstructed stone mullions in returns, 2 single light windows inserted right gable end. Interior not seen. The
Masters and Day Map of Somerset published 1782 shows a house of some importance at Fyfett, but whether it is this
dwelling or one that formerly stood to the south is not clear. There are monuments in Otterford churchyard to the
Willie family of Fyfett.
Listing NGR: ST2477613149
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.