Description: Assembly Rooms
Date Listed: 22 June 1979
English Heritage Building ID: 272957
OS Grid Reference: SK2509222784
OS Grid Coordinates: 425092, 322784
Latitude/Longitude: 52.8020, -1.6292
Explore more of the area around Burton, Staffordshire at Explore Britain.
SK 2522 NW BURTON UPON TRENT FRIAR'S WALK
944/3/56 Assembly Rooms
Former Grammar School. Established c1537, shortly before the dissolution of the Abbey, with which it was associated. The school occupied a building on the present site before 1757, which may have been late C16 and may have incorporated earlier fabric. This building was extended and reconstructed in 1834. The Grammar School moved to other premises in 1877, and the building became assembly rooms. It was comprehensively restored and extended in 1959-61 by Armstrong & Falgate. Red brick, with ashlar dressings and plain tile roofs without stacks. Plinth, dentillated eaves, and shouldered coped gables. Windows are mainly C19 stone mullioned casements, some renewed in concrete, 1959. 2 storeys. 1:3:1 bays.
Central square ashlar porch, probably C16, with Tudor arched opening converted c1959 to a 3-light mullioned window, with an inscribed tablet. On either side, 3-light windows linked by a moulded string course. Above, three 3-light windows, that in the centre with a label mould. In the central gable, a datestone inscribed "1834". Projecting gabled end bays have Tudor arched openings, that to left with C19 double doors and overlight, that to right with a 3-light window. Above, 2-light windows with label moulds.
To left, an addition, c1959, 2 storeys, with a shallow full-width mullioned window under a string course, and blank upper floor.
At the rear, extensive additions, 1959, single storey, and a flat roofed stair enclosure. On the ground floor, C19 door and mullioned window, and a C19 cast iron glazing bar casement. Above, 2 larger cast iron casements.
INTERIOR: Entrance hall has concrete open well staircase, 1959. Ground floor has to north a stone wall, rendered C20, with plinth and splayed window opening converted to a cupboard. . Two blocked corner fireplaces. Late C20 partitions and fittings. First floor hall has two blocked fireplaces on the rear wall. Exposed king post truss roof with struts and double purlins.
Radford, GE. Deus Nobiscum: a history of Burton Grammar School 1973.
Meeson, R. Time and Place: medieval carpentry in Staffordshire 1994.
Listing NGR: SK2509222784
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.