Description: The Priests House and Atached Garden Walls and Gate Piers
Date Listed: 3 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 274999
OS Grid Reference: SK0736042390
OS Grid Coordinates: 407360, 342390
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9788, -1.8918
Explore more of the area around Alton, Staffordshire at Explore Britain.
ALTON C.P. CASTLE HILL ROAD (North-west side)
13/3 The Priest's House and
3/1/67 attached garden walls and gate
piers (Formerly listed as
Former schoolmaster's house, walls and gate piers. C17 extended and
remodelled by Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin circa 1843. Ashlar with herringbone tooling, some edged; plain tile roof with crested ridge tiles and coped verges;
ashlar external end stack and lateral external stack. Aligned north-
west/south-east facing south-west; the extension is in a Vernacular
Revival style to match the original house. C17 house to the left.
C19 extension to the right with a higher ridge. C17 house: 2 storeys,
2 bays, chamfer mullioned windows, those to the ground floor have a
continuous hood mould; central gabled porch with stone slate roof and
blocked doorway with cambered arch. C19 extension: 2 storeys,
irregular facade, windows to ground and first floors left have three
4-centred arch lights beneath a square head, sunken spandrels and
returned hood moulds, similar single-light window to ground floor
right; central gabled porch with stone slate roof, 4-centred doorway
with panelled spandrels and half-glazed door; lateral chimney stack to
right of centre. Coped garden walls enclose gardens to the front and
rear; a pair of gate piers at the south east angle of the front garden
lead to the Hospital of St. John (q.v.), The Castle (q.v.), and
St. Johns Preparatory School (q.v.). They are made of rusticated
rock-faced ashlar and have pyramidal caps.
Listing NGR: SK0736242392
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.