Description: Lower Mill
Date Listed: 7 May 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 275586
OS Grid Reference: TL7198261665
OS Grid Coordinates: 571982, 261665
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2263, 0.5166
Explore more of the area around Dalham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 76 SW DALHAM STORES HILL
6/26 Lower Mill 1
7.5.54 (Formerly listed
as Lower Windmill)
A large smock mill, c.1790. About 16 metres high; ground floor
and 3 floors above; octagonal. Weatherboarded timber-framing on
plinth of tarred brick. Pentice-roofed small-pane casements.
Beehive cap with gallery and fantail. 4 patent sails (not in
position 1983). 3 pairs of stones mounted on a hurst frame on
the 1st floor. The mill was in full use until 1926. Complete
restoration well advanced 1983. For full description and
photographs etc. see WINDMILLS IN SUFOLK: Peter C.J. Dolman:
Suffolk Mills Group, 1978.
Listing NGR: TL7198261665
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.