Description: Stable Block to Cavenham Hall, 200 Metres West of Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 16 October 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 275754
OS Grid Reference: TL7614169649
OS Grid Coordinates: 576141, 269649
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2967, 0.5816
Explore more of the area around Cavenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 76 NE CAVENHAM THE STREET
7/13 Stable block to Cavenham
- Hall, 200 metres west of
Church of St. Andrew.
Stables and coach-house, probably built c.1899 with Cavenham Hall (now
demolished), by A.N. Prentice for H.E.M. Davies. Stables to left, and coach-
house to right, both facing into the stable yard; linked by a Baroque entrance
arch facing Cavenham Hall to the south-west. 1 storey with attics. Red brick.
Plaintiled roof with hipped casement dormers and a central chimney of red brick
with saw-tooth pattern flues. A segmental-arched casement to left, of 3 lights
(other similar stable windows face into the yard). A semi-circular entrance
arch of limestone, with block-voussoirs, and a massive key-stone carved in the
form of a console-bracket. A pair of slatted half-height entrance gates. On
either flank is a large ramped scroll, set-forward on a pedestal; all of
limestone. The gable above has a heavily moulded broken pediment of wood, with
mutules and an egg-and-dart frieze. The central octagonal lead-clad cupola has
clock faces in a moulded frame, beneath a bell-turret and domed copper roof.
The rear wing to left contains stabling. To right is a pair of coach-houses; a
canopy, formerly glass-covered, is cantilevered from moulded cast iron columns.
Listing NGR: TL7614169649
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.