Description: Church of St Andrew and St Patrick
Date Listed: 7 May 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 275762
OS Grid Reference: TL8228379942
OS Grid Coordinates: 582283, 279942
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3872, 0.6772
Explore more of the area around Elveden, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 87 NW ELVEDEN LONDON ROAD
2/21 Church of St. Andrew and
- St. Patrick
Church, mediaeval, restored 1869; major alterations 1904-6 and again 1922 by
W.D. Caroe for Edward Guiness, 1st Viscount Iveagh. The mediaeval church
consists of chancel (now chapel of St. Andrew), nave (now south aisle), west
tower and south porch. In 1904 were added nave, chancel, organ chamber, vestry
and west porch. In 1922 a free-standing bell-tower was built, linked to the
south chapel by a cloister. Flint rubble walling with limestone dressings.
Cotswold slated roofs with parapet gables. The mediaeval nave has a C12 core;
a blocked lancet in the north wall; another reset from south wall. 2 north
windows and east window inserted mid C14; 2 hood-moulded square-headed windows
and south porch added C15, heavily restored 1869. West tower of c.1421 in 3
stages on blank-traceried flushwork base, crenellated parapets with pinnacles,
mask gargoyles and 2-light west window. A simple C14 angle piscina and
dropped-cill sedilia. Mediaeval roofs renewed 1904; nave has a richly-carved
tie-beam roof with king-and queen-posts. Caroe's work is a development of the
Perpendicular style, but many features are entirely original. Much heavily-
carved and embellished ashlar-work, with distinctive elements such as
buttresses, gargoyles and elliptical arch-forms. Figures of Saints Andrew,
Patrick and others stand upon the porch and parapets at south and west sides.
Richly carved Perpendicular nave roof of double-hammer beam type, crowded with
tiers of angels; the organ, pulpit and choir-stalls also heavily carved. Altar
reredos of alabaster is based on that of St. Alban's Abbey; it depicts the
Supper at Emmaus, surrounded by niches with the 12 apostles and figures of
saints. Also of carved alabaster is the octagonal font. Much good C19 and C20
stained glass; the east chapel window by Kempe, to Prince Frederick Duleep
Singh of Elveden Hall; a south window by Clayton and Bell. The south tower and
cloister of 1922 are of ashlar in the Perpendicular style, with vaulted stone
ceilings; the tower has much good flushwork and crenellated parapets.
Listing NGR: TL8228379942
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.