Description: The Old Workhouse
Date Listed: 2 October 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 275814
OS Grid Reference: TL7764286181
OS Grid Coordinates: 577642, 286181
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4447, 0.6123
Explore more of the area around Brandon, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 78 NE BRANDON CHURCH END
1/5 The Old Workhouse
Parish Centre, formerly National School, formerly Workhouse. 1778 with
possible core of 1673, converted to school 1843 (a sunk limestone plaque above
the entrance is inscribed "Victoria National School. Established 1843"). 2
storeys, 5 windows. Coursed squared clunch rubble with gault and red brick
quoins, set-forward plinth and parapets. Slated roof with end chimneys of
gault brick. C19 small-pane casements of 2 lights, those at ground floor
larger with transomes; segmental arched heads. Late C19 boarded entrance door
in reduced original opening. The Master's house attached to right has been
altered so as no longer to be of special interest.
Listing NGR: TL7764286181
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.