Description: Ruin of Charnel House About 10 Metres South of the South Aisle of Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 7 May 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 275845
OS Grid Reference: TL7104574579
OS Grid Coordinates: 571045, 274579
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3426, 0.5095
Explore more of the area around Mildenhall, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 7174 MILDENHALL THE CHURCHYARD
12/36 Ruin of Charnel House, -
about 10m. south of the
7.5.54 south aisle of Church of
- St. Mary.
(Formerly listed as Remains
II of Chapel in Churchyard)
Ruined charnel house, 1387, for Ralph de Walsham. Flint rubble with freestone
dressings. The main feature is a late C19 moulded arched doorway in the C13
Gothic style, added when the ruin was adapted for the vault of the Read family;
framed by the doorway is a limestone slab inscribed with epitaphs to several of
their number. To right are remains of steps up to the chapel of St. Michael
which was built above the charnel house.
Listing NGR: TL7104574579
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.