Description: Chapel at St Bartholomew's Farm
Date Listed: 3 March 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 275913
OS Grid Reference: TL8709942803
OS Grid Coordinates: 587099, 242803
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0520, 0.7273
There is also a scheduled monument, St Bartholomew's Chapel, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Sudbury, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
In the entry for:
The address shall be amended to read: ST BARTHOLOMEW'S LANE
The grade shall be upgraded to 11*, the building shall be included for Group
Value (GV), the description shall be amended to read:-
Chapel, now outbuilding. Early C15. Uncoursed flint rubble;
gabled old tile roof. Rectangular single-cell plan. Offset diagonal
corner buttresses and offset buttress to centre of 2-bay north and south eleva-
tions. Most window tracery has been lost. Moulded Tudor-arched
architraves to east window, which has remains of cusped Perpendicular
tracery to head; hood moulds with head stops over moulded 2-centred
arched windows to north and south, with remains of cusped Perpendicular
tracery to heads; hood mould over ancient studded door Set in moulded
2-centred architrave to west of south elevation; moulded Tudor-arched
architrave to west window, which has Cl9 brick to head. Interior:
complete trussed rafter roof of uniform scantling with no longitudinal
support. History: this chapel served the cell or grange of the Benedictine
Westminster Abbey, in existence on this site from 1115 to 1538; there is also a
C14 barn (q.v.) and post-dissolution farmhouse on the site; the prior's lodging
was demolished in 1779.
(C F D Sperling, A Short History of Sudbury, 1896)
1. Chapel of St Bartholomew,
1692 Bartholomewls Farm
TL 84 SE 1/2 3.3.52
Approximately quarter mile off Melford Road. The remaining part of a Benedictine
Prior established here as a cell to Westminster Abbey during 2nd half reign
Henry IV. De-molished 1779. This building early Perpendicular in fairly
good state of preservation, though no longer used except for storage (service
held once a year until circa 1830). It is a rectangular building of mixed
rubble with stone dressings (much defaced) and it has no chancel, aisles,
or tower. AM.
Listing NGR: TL8709942803
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.