Description: Stutton House
Date Listed: 23 February 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 277543
OS Grid Reference: TM1610634358
OS Grid Coordinates: 616106, 234358
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9657, 1.1444
Explore more of the area around Stutton, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 13 SE STUTTON STUTTON GREEN
5/91 Stutton House
(formerly Stutton Parsonage
House. Rebuilt as a rectory 1750 by Rev Tobias Rustat. In 1822 Rev Thomas Mills
added Dutch gables on all sides and made additions. Post 1945 fire restorations
have removed the Dutch gables and returned the house to its original design. Red
brick. Red plain tiled roofs. 2 storeys and attics. Rear right and left chimney-
stacks with moulded capping. 2 gabled dormers to front and 3 each to right and
left returns. Moulded brick cornice. Central moulded open pediment above cornice.
Plinth. 5 window range of small paned vertically sliding sashes, gauged brick
arches, excepting central first floor Venetian window, keystone to central semi-
circular head. Central doorway, 3 step approach, reveal panels, moulded pilasters,
console brackets, moulded and dentiled open pediment. Left return, 3 window range
of similar windows, single storey rear extension with full-height angled bay and
Dutch gable ends. Right return, 5 window range, rear attached curved wall with
dentilled cornice, flat headed arch and 1 ground floor window leading into a 3-
storey extension with Dutch gable ends.
D Sandon, 'Suffolk Houses', 1984; N Pevsner, 'Suffolk', 1961
White's 'Directory of Suffolk', 1844.
Listing NGR: TM1610634358
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.