Description: Giffords Hall
Date Listed: 10 January 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 278551
OS Grid Reference: TM0180837432
OS Grid Coordinates: 601808, 237432
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9986, 0.9384
Explore more of the area around Stoke-by-Nayland, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
5377 Giffords Hall
(formerly listed as
Giffords Hall and ruined
Chapel of St Nicholas)
TM 03 NW 13/809 10.1.53.
The present house, which was built by the Mannock family who held the
manor from 1428, is mainly of the early C16 but incorporates the remains
of an earlier building. There were some alterations and additions in
the early C18 and late C19. The timber-framed house is built around a
quadrangular courtyard with a 2 storeyed red brick gatehouse on the south
side and a great hall on the north. The outer (south) front of the gatehouse
has angle turrets, stepped battlements and brick pinnacles. The windows
have 4-centred heads to the lights and there is a 4-centred arch with
blank tracery in the spandrels and a frieze with cusped tracery above.
The front to the courtyard has 3 stepped gables. The interior of the
great hall has a fine example of a double-hammerbeam roof with carved
arched braces and spandrels, and a late C17 minstrels gallery with twisted
Listing NGR: TM0180837432
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.