Description: Hynards Cottage
Date Listed: 30 May 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 278682
OS Grid Reference: TL9601037151
OS Grid Coordinates: 596010, 237151
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9982, 0.8539
Explore more of the area around Leavenheath, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 93 NE 12/935 Hynards Cottage
House. Mid to late C15, with C16 alterations, and a section of C20 replacement.
1 storeys; 3-cell plan, formerly with an open hall. Timber-framed and rendered
with traces of old pargeting and some panels of C20 pargeting; the northern
third of the house is in whitewashed brick. Thatched roof with decorated ridge,
half-hipped at both ends. An inserted chimney-stack set internally below the
ridge, with a plain square red brick shaft, and a later stack set externally at
the south end. The timber-framed part has various small-paned casement windows;
the brick end has casements with a single bar to lights, set in deep reveals,
with segmental arches to the ground floor, C20 plank door. The southern end of
the house contains 2½ bays of Cl5 framing, comprising a parlour and 1 bays of
the former hall. The parlour has plain, unchamfered, rather rough joists set flat,
and a blocked stair trap. In the hall, the main posts and part of the solid arched
braces of the open truss are visible on the ground floor, but the upper structure
has been cut away. Additional posts were set beside the open truss in the C16 to
carry the main beam of the inserted ceiling; the posts have a wide chamfer and
pyramid stops. The inserted joists are plain and heavy. The position of one of
the doorways (now blocked) for the original cross-entry can be discerned, but
the cross-entry itself was blocked by the inserted chimney-stack, which had a single
hearth to heat the hall. The brick end, which looks Edwardian but was added in
1948, replaces the former service rooms. The building was once a farmhouse.
Listing NGR: TL9601037151
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.