Description: The Lambe School
Date Listed: 29 May 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 278732
OS Grid Reference: TM0707834843
OS Grid Coordinates: 607078, 234843
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9735, 1.0135
Explore more of the area around East Bergholt, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 0734 EAST BERGHOLT GASTON STREET
6/24 The Lambe School
School, now village hall. Founded 1594 by Edward Lambe. Two builds, the earlier
section to the right is probably the original building although much altered, with
early C19 range to left. Restored 1970s. Early section: timber-framed, front and
right gable cased in red brick in Flemish bond, rear weatherboarded. Slate to front
roof pitch, plain tiles to rear. One storey, 2 bays of frame. Sashes with glazing
bars in reveals. Present entrance through later range. Roof gableted to left.
External stack to right. 4-light restored diamond mullion window to rear. Later
range: white brick, slate roof. C20 weatherboarded extension to rear. One storey.
Four 16-pane sashes in reveals with sills under shallow pedimented lintels. Angle
pilasters. Original entrance to left gable end. Present entrance by rear extension.
Later linking wall to older range. Interior of early section: exposed framing
consisting of ground rail on plinth, studded walls and jowled posts with mortices
for arch braces. Replaced tie beams. Rebuilt inglenook with chamfered timber
bressummer. Studded wall above contains blocked restored 3-light diamond mullion
window. The school was originally endowed by Mistress Lettice Dykes in 1589, the
foundation by Edward Lambe (Lord of the village manor of Illaries) is recorded by
a deed of Sept 25th 1594.
Patterson T F, East Bergholt in Suffolk, 1923 pp 96-113.
Listing NGR: TM0707834843
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.