Description: Trickers Green Farmhouse
Date Listed: 22 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 279849
OS Grid Reference: TM0370056500
OS Grid Coordinates: 603700, 256500
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1692, 0.9773
Explore more of the area around Combs, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
COMBS JACKS LANE
TM 05 NW
2/74 Trickers Green Farmhouse
Former farmhouse. Circa 1500 with C16 and later alterations. One storey with.
attics. 3-cell plan with cross-entry. Timber-framed and plastered. Thatched
roof, hipped to right (formerly also half-hipped to left). Axial chimney, the
shaft rebuilt mid C20 in red brick; a plastered C18/C19 end chimney to left.
Mid C20 small-pane casements, those at upper storey with eyebrows at the
eaves. Mid C20 panelled door in gabled porch at cross-entry position.
Although the structure is typical for a better quality house of c.1500, the
layout is exceptional: the open hall was of 3 bays when built, and would have
been at least 9m long. (The left hand bay was demolished and rebuilt later in
C16, in the form of a conventional storeyed service cell). A cross-entry has
one 4-centred arched doorway, but this may also be an alteration. One of the
open trusses remains, with cambered tiebeam and massive archbraces of 4-
centred form. A 6-light hall window with diamond mullions is in the upper
(right hand) bay. Good close studding with unusually long windbraces of both
arch and tension form, smoke-encrusted roof of coupled rafter or crownpost
form. At the "upper" end is a storeyed cell with massive floor joists and a
diamond-mullioned window; the ground floor room was subdivided originally at
this end, another rare feature in a medieval house. A wide lintelled open
fireplace of pale buff brick was inserted into the hall in late C16, together
with an upper floor.
Listing NGR: TM0370056500
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.