Description: House Occupied by Mr Proctor
Date Listed: 22 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 279859
OS Grid Reference: TM0424554884
OS Grid Coordinates: 604245, 254884
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1544, 0.9843
Explore more of the area around Combs, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
COMBS MOATS TYE
TM 05 SW
5/84 House occupied by
- Mr. Proctor
Farmhouse, C15 with alterations of late C16 and C17. One storey and attics.
3.-cell cross-entry plan. Timber-framed and plastered. Thatched roof, hipped
at right hand end. A C17 axial chimney of red brick; eyebrow casement dormers
of C19. Mainly C19 small-pane casements. C19 glazed panelled entrance door;
another boarded. An open-hall house with some original features: widely-
spaced arch-windbraced studding, heavy unchamfered floor joists over the
original parlour to right, smoke encrusted coupled-rafter roof. Apart from
fragments of the archbraces, the hall open truss is missing. A large C16 open
fireplace backs onto the original cross-entry. A further bay was added to
left in C17 and a fireplace built backing against the earlier one.
Listing NGR: TM0424554884
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.