Description: Dennys Farmhouse
Date Listed: 22 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 279877
OS Grid Reference: TM0428456315
OS Grid Coordinates: 604284, 256315
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1673, 0.9857
Explore more of the area around Combs, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
COMBS TANNERY ROAD
TM 05 NW
2/102 Denny's Farmhouse
Former farmhouse, c.1600 with early C16 core. 3-cell lobby-entrance plan
since C17, 2 storeys and attics. Timber-framed and plastered. Plaintiled
roof with axial chimney of red brick; the lower section has narrow bricks of
c.1600, the upper part reubilt in C19. C19 and C20 casements. Mid C19 door
at lobby-entrance position: 4 panels (the upper pair glazed), eared
architrave. Framing almost entirely concealed. To right is an outhouse with
glazed pantiled C19 roof; this was part of the house until then, and probably
a dairy: early C16 with fully exposed framing, a complete blocked diamond
mullioned window, and massive unchamfered floor joists. Thomas Denny founded
here a tannery business in 1711, which, largely under the regime of Lankester
Webb (d.1887) grew into the large complex standing to the south of this house.
Listing NGR: TM0428456315
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.