Description: Charles Hall
Date Listed: 22 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 279938
OS Grid Reference: TM0332853713
OS Grid Coordinates: 603328, 253713
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1443, 0.9702
Explore more of the area around Ringshall, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
RINGSHALL STOWMARKET ROAD
TM 05 SW
5/163 Charles Hall
Former manor house, now a farmhouse subdivided into 2 dwellings. Circa c.1500
with mid C16 and early C17 alterations. 2 storeys. 3-cell cross-entry plan
with central open hall. Timber-framed and plastered. Plaintiled roofs.
Axial chimneys, rebuilt in mid C19 in gault brick: octagonal shafts with
concave faces, that to the hall having a single flue, that to the parlour wing
with two. Casements of c.1960. C20 entrance doorways; one with a gabled
plaintiled porch is at the cross-entry position. The 2-bay open hall has a
central open truss: a cambered tiebeam (arch-braces missing) and an octagonal
crownpost without capital, with 2-way plank braces. The roof is complete and
has moderate smoke-blackening. Good close-studding. Twin service room
doorways: one blocked, the other damaged but with part of a chamfered 4-
centred arch. In mid C16 a wide open fireplace with cambered lintel was
placed against the cross-entry, and a fine inserted ceiling in the hall, with
moulded joists and beams. In early C17 a parlour block of cross-wing form was
added to left; it has an ovolo-moulded briding beam and vesigial wind-braced
butt-purlin roof. The originally hipped roofed service cell was extended to
right in C16/C17. Thomas Charles held the manor in c.1250; the house is
associated with an incomplete medieval moat.
Listing NGR: TM0332853713
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.