Ufford Hall, Fressingfield
Description: Ufford Hall
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 279983
OS Grid Reference: TM2727574605
OS Grid Coordinates: 627275, 274605
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3225, 1.3336
Location: Fressingfield, Suffolk IP21 5TA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Fressingfield, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
FRESSINGFIELD LAXFIELD ROAD
TM 27 SE
- Ufford Hall
Manor farmhouse. Late C16 with probably C15 core. Timber framed and
plastered with a plaintiled roof. 2 storeys and attics. A main range with
flanking short cross-wings; the parlour wing projects further to the north
where attached to it is the stair wing. Many mullioned and mullion and
transom windows with cavetto moulding, a mixture of originals and good
reproduction work of early C20 date; diamond-leaded glass. Some C18 casement
windows. To the north a C20 doorway with arched head and plank entrance door.
Adjacent, over an earlier position of the dorway, a spread eagle or phoenix in
plaster, probably of C20 date. Masssive square axial stack between hall and
parlour wing. Against the south wall of the hall range a C17 external stack
with tall shaft. The hall range incorporates a medieval core which has been
raised about 1.3m. Inserted cross-beamed ceiling with ornate stop-chamfers to
the joists and cornice. The parlour has a cross-beamed ceiling with ovolo
moulding, stylised Fleur-de-lys stops and panelled soffits; the parlour
chamber and 2 hall chambers have similar ceilings. Much good exposed studding.
Fine late C16 dog-leg stair with turned balusters and newel posts with ball
finials. Back-to-back stuccoed fireplaces on both floors. Archbishop Sancroft
(1617-1693) was born here and lived here from 1690 until his death. Remains
of medieval moat. Sandon, Suffolk Houses, 1977, pp.175-7.
Listing NGR: TM2727574605
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.