Description: Gatehouse Farmhouse
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 280062
OS Grid Reference: TM1922477386
OS Grid Coordinates: 619224, 277386
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3507, 1.2175
Explore more of the area around Syleham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 17 NE
4/113 Gatehouse Farmhouse
- ( formerly listed as The
Farmhouse. Mid C16 with C17 service addition to rear forming L-shape plan.
Restored 1975-85. Timber framed, mainly plastered; exposed close studding to
left gable, colourwashed brick to right gable end. Pantiled roofs except
front slope of main range which is plaintiled. 2 storeys and attic. 3-cell
form. 3 windows, mid C20 large-paned casements. Lobby entrance with mid C20
boarded and battened door. To the rear there are 3 large original windows
with fine roll-moulded mullions, in an unusually good state of preservation;
other similar windows are blocked and visible internally. A smaller first
floor window has cavetto mullions. Internal stack with original plain shaft.
2-storey rear wing with some slatted windows; internal stack. Both hall and
parlour have fine ceilings with multiple roll mouldings to bridging beams and
joists. The service end, which was originally divided into 2, also has
moulded joists, but these are concealed. In the rear wall, part of an arched
doorway into the cross-passage. In the parlour a small blocked external
doorway with 4-centre arched head whose function is unclear. Some exposed
studding, mainly in later wing. Newel stairs in both wings. The roof over
the main range has clasped and butt purlins with arched wind-bracing.
Listing NGR: TM1922277388
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.