Description: Yew Tree House
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 280125
OS Grid Reference: TM2653369606
OS Grid Coordinates: 626533, 269606
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2779, 1.3194
Explore more of the area around Brundish, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 26 NE
6/5 Yew Tree House
Former farmhouse; originally the cross-wing of a larger house which extended
to the west. Early-mid C16 with C19 2-storey addition. Timber framed; part
plastered, lined to imitate ashlar to the east; ground floor mainly rebuilt in
colourwashed brick. Roof has concrete plaintiles to the front and black
pantiles to the rear. 2 storeys. Jettied gable end to road carried on plain
brackets. C18-C19 small-paned casement windows. To the east a lobby entrance
with a gabled porch and mid C20 plank door. Beneath the jetty an oriel window
with original cill, the remainder of the window of later date. To the right
of this a C19 6-panel door. Internal stack, a C16 or early C17 insertion.
Ground floor room adjacent to jetty has closely-spaced heavy plain joists.
Part of a blocked 4-centre arched doorway in the gable end. The chamber above
has fine heavy studding with tension braces. The open truss had solid arched
braces, one of which survives; there is a similar brace in the adjacent truss
now against the stack. Crown post roof: oblong crown posts, stop-chamfered
but otherwise plain, with almost solid 2-way braces to the collar purlin. The
structure of the roof provides clear evidence for the existence of an
adjoining range. Good newel stair with original treads. Remains of medieval
Listing NGR: TM2653369606
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.