Description: St Jacob's Hall
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 280142
OS Grid Reference: TM3064471308
OS Grid Coordinates: 630644, 271308
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2915, 1.3807
Explore more of the area around Laxfield, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 37 SW
5/22 St. Jacob's Hall
- (formerly listed as St.
Farmhouse. A complex house, mainly of C15 and C16, with considerable later
alteration. Timber framed and plastered with a pantiled roof. 2 storeys and
attic. 4 windows, C18-C19 mullion and transom casements. 2 C19 doorways:
that to the right has fluted pilasters (the capitals enriched with a flower
motif) and a pediment containing a roundel depicting an animal. A similar
doorway to left but with plain pilasters and lions' heads as embellishments.
6-panel doors. Internal stack and gable stack to right, both with C19
dentilled caps. Medieval framing is visible in part of the rear wall, with 2
secondary mullioned windows; eaves raised at a later date. At the left are 2
bays of a former cross-wing which once extended further to the rear: heavy
framing with reversed bracing to the rear wall, cranked braces to the tie
beams and evidence for a diamond-mullioned window in a position which suggests
the cross-wing pre-dates the medieval range adjoining. Hall has a mutilated
embattled bridging beam. Fireplace lintol at service end inscribed 'N.
JACOB'. Parlour chamber has small remains of an ornamental plaster ceiling of
c.1600. This room has complete oak panelling, perhaps C19. Some re-used C17
panelling in hall chamber. The roof has been renewed, perhaps in late C18. A
fireplace between the hall and parlour was removed in C19 and replaced by a
Listing NGR: TM3064471308
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.