Description: The Kings Arms Public House
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 280582
OS Grid Reference: TM0267862260
OS Grid Coordinates: 602678, 262260
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2212, 0.9658
Explore more of the area around Haughley, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
HAUGHLEY OLD STREET (NORTH SIDE)
8/99 The King's Arms Public
9/12/55 (formerly listed as the
GV II Kings Arms)
Public house: mid C16 core to main 3-window range with C18 alterations.
Crosswing of early C14 to left, extended rearwards in C15 or early C16. Two
storeys. Timber-framed and plastered. Concrete plaintiled roof with C19
pierced crested ridge tiles. An axial C16 chimney of pink/buff bricks, the
upper shaft rebuilt in C19 red brick. Late C19 mullioned and transomed small-
pane casements at ground storey, and smaller earlier C19 casements above. C19
4-panelled door at lobby-entrance position. The 2-bay cross-wing has rare
but characteristic early C14 carpentry: the walls have widely-spaced studwork
with wide plank tension braces at some points, and square-sectioned straight
or slightly curved primary arch braces in others. The open truss has a
cambered tie-beam with chamfered square-sectioned archbraces. Evidence for a
crownpost roof, removed by mid C20. Heavy 1st floor joists, lodged over a
central binding beam. The wing was extended rearwards by about 3 bays in C15
or early C16 with close-studding and heavy unchamfered floor joists. The rear
bay was largely rebuilt c.1700 with a hipped butt-purlin roof. The main range
has a ceiling with roll-moulded joists of c.1550. Mid C16 work in the bar to
right includes unmoulded framing and a wide lintelled open fireplace. A C17
newel staircase has a balustrade with serpentine splat balusters. In C18, the
walls of the main range were raised and the roof was rebuilt. N.M.R.
Listing NGR: TM0267862260
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.