Description: Chickering Corner Farmhouse
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 281002
OS Grid Reference: TM2055176409
OS Grid Coordinates: 620551, 276409
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3414, 1.2363
Explore more of the area around Hoxne, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 27 NW
3/61 Chickering Corner
29.7.55 listed with Item Nos.
3/62 & 3/63 as Haywards
Part of former farmhouse, now one dwelling. C15; extended north by one bay in
late C16. The surviving cross-wing of a substantial medieval house, possibly
the manor house of Chickering Hall. Timber framed, formerly plastered, now
mainly cement-rendered. Pantiled roof. 2 storeys and attic. East gable end
is jettied, with remains of buttress-shafts. Most of the windows are
mullioned, of mid C20 date. 2 C19 casements in east gable end. Mid C20
boarded door. The house also includes one bay of the adjacent range to the
north, rebuilt in C16 (q.v. Haywards Farm Cottage, Item No.3/62). This part
has a C19 doorway with half-glazed 4-panel door and bracketed hood. Internal
stack with plain shaft. Main ground floor room has heavy close studding and
closely-spaced plain joists. Buttress-shafted wallposts, both with carved
figures of good quality. On one, a seated woodwose; the opposite one has 2
huntsmen, one carrying a club, with a dog between. Both carvings are on
moulded stools, with moulded caps above. The middle rail and bridging beam
have substantial remains of a repeated 2-word inscription of C15 date in
Lombardic script. Good first floor studding, both the rooms entered via 4-
centre arched doorways. One room has a C16 window with cavetto and roll-
moulded mullions. In the east gable end are 2 later square panels, each
infilled with curved braces to form a geometric design. Evidence for original
doorway through to adjacent range. Each C15 wallplate has an edge-halved and
bridled scarf joint with undersquinted butts, c.O.3m long. Stack inserted
c.1600: 2 arched brick fireplaces, one on the first floor stuccoed; the other
first floor fireplace has remains of lining on the brick joints. Side purlin
roof of C16-C17 date. Newel stairs. In the section of the adjoining range
part of a plank and muntin screen and a little C17 panelling, both re-used.
Traces of surrounding medieval moat.
Listing NGR: TM2055476429
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.