Description: Bearts Farmhouse
Date Listed: 23 June 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 281361
OS Grid Reference: TM1509868131
OS Grid Coordinates: 615098, 268131
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2692, 1.1511
Explore more of the area around Thorndon, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
THORNDON HALL ROAD
TM 16 NE
4/80 Bearts Farmhouse
Farmhouse. Early C16 3-cell main range with later C16 service cross-wing to
left. Early C17 alterations. Much restored mid C20. Timber framed and
plastered; much renewed exposed studding and down braces to gable ends of
wing. Roof of C20 plaintiles. 2 storeys, attic in parlour cell. Various mid
C20 small-paned casement windows. One large reproduction open hall window.
To left of main range is a mid C20 gabled porch with plank side door.
Internal stack with original oblong red brick shaft. 3-bay main range, the
original layout unclear. Some of the framing over the hall is sooted, as is
the roof, but there is evidence for original upper windows throughout. The
partition between hall and service cells seems a later insertion as it
interrupts the pattern of the roof timbers. The present stack, at one end of
the hall bay, is an early C17 insertion with back-to-back open fireplaces.
Hall ceiling, with ogee stop-chamfered axial bridging beam and plain joists
supported on a ledge, also seems an early C17 insertion. Plain joists
(painted) in parlour. Floor in service end largely removed for mid C20 stair.
Clasped purlin roof with 2-way wind bracing. Newel stair in 2 flights, mostly
C17. Cross-wing much restored mid C20: one 4-centre arched doorway in side
wall; renewed upper floor; some intact first floor framing.
Listing NGR: TM1509868131
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.