Description: The Guildhall
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 281494
OS Grid Reference: TM1737463265
OS Grid Coordinates: 617374, 263265
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2247, 1.1812
Explore more of the area around Debenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DEBENHAM GRACECHURCH STREET
TM 16 SE
6/70 No.2 (The Guildhall)
9/12/55 (formerly listed under
High Street as The Cross
and adjoining premises)
Former market hall, erected on site of market cross. Upper room adapted for
use as school in 1668, established under the will of Sir Robert Hitcham.
Latterly shop premises; empty at time of survey (July 1987). Early-mid C17
(after 1621) with alterations of 1668. Timber framed and roughcast-rendered.
Roof of mid C20 concrete plaintiles. A freestanding building, approximately
square on plan. 2 storeys and attic. Gable ends to north and south have
jettied upper floors carried on thick carved brackets, the bressummers carved
with repeated geometric patterns, now much eroded. Slightly projecting
gables, the tie beams also carved. To north is a tripartite upper window, the
projecting centre portion with original carved sill and renewed 4-light
window; the 4-light side windows each retain one original ovolo mullion. C17
attic window. Large boarded and battened doors date from the use of the
ground floor as a fire station. To east, an original 5-light mullion and
transom window with renewed carved sill. To south, a pair of C20 mullion and
transom windows on each floor, a C20 battened entrance door and a gable stack
with small square shaft. Interior. Gable ends were open to ground floor,
with a central post and knee braces to the mid rail. Side walls on ground
floor have widely-spaced studs and long straight braces. Similar infilling to
gable ends. First floor studs quite widely spaced, with curved braces at the
corners. Upper floor has on-edge plain joists. Plaster ceiling of upper
floor is insertion of c.1668 when attic was made: centre band has repeated
pattern based on half-circles; 4 moulded divisions with Fleur-de-lys, foliage
and rosette motifs. Stack is founded on upper floor, an insertion of c.1668
to heat the schoolroom. The fireplace has a simple 3-centred brick arch.
Roof has clasped and butt purlins with arched wind-bracing. For structural
drawings see Mr T. Easton, Bedfield Hall.
Listing NGR: TM1737463265
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.