Description: Flemings Antiques
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 281520
OS Grid Reference: TM1734963316
OS Grid Coordinates: 617349, 263316
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2251, 1.1809
Explore more of the area around Debenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DEBENHAM HIGH STREET (west side)
TM 16 SE
6/96 Fleming's Antiques & Post
9.12.55 Office (formerly listed
as Post Office; Barclay's
Bank; Premises adjoining
Barclay's Bank on S.side)
Originally guildhall of Holy Trinity, now antique dealers premises. Mid C15;
Post Office is later addition, perhaps C17. Timber framed, the facade mainly
roughcast-rendered, part to left plastered. Plaintiled roof, the tiles on the
rear slope of concrete. 2 storeys with small attic. The guildhall was
jettied to front and rear, now mostly underbuilt except for a small portion to
rear with 2 original brackets. Various windows of C19 and C20. Fleming's
Antiques has an early C19 bowed shopfront: 2 windows each with 24 panes;
central doorway with mid C20 semi-glazed door in 2 leaves, oblong overlight
with geometric glazing bars. Flat-roofed open porch on square timber posts;
above is a nameboard in the form of an elaborate cartouche. Disused doorway
to centre. Post Office has a flush 15-paned shop window and C20 semi-glazed
door; 2 small-paned mid C20 casements above. 2 internal stacks, the earlier
one to left with plain axial shaft. Interior. The guildhall is in 4 bays;
the ground floor was divided into 2 equal rooms and the upper floor was a
single full-length room, open to the roof. It was unheated. Ceiling of
ground floor has heavy plain joists. Exposed studding in south gable end on
upper floor. North gable end has original first floor doorway with 4-centred
arch. Fine 2-tier roof. Cambered tie beams with arched braces rising from
buttress-shafts on the wallposts. The tie beams carry queen-posts, plain
except for chamfers on the inner face, which are braced to the arcade plates.
Cambered upper tie beams carry short chamfered crown-posts with 4-way bracing.
C16 stack inserted in 3rd bay from south. Interior of Post Office not
examined. Referred to as 'the new hall' of the Gild of the Holy Trinity in a
Bloodhall Manor rental of 1463. The guildhall facade is described in c.1850
as having been herringbone brick nogged and with a 'new frontage of late
years' (Samuel Dove's Debenham, 1986, p.7). For structural drawings see Mr T.
Easton, Bedfield Hall.
Listing NGR: TM1734963316
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.