Description: Lovejoy Antiques
Date Listed: 24 June 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 281532
OS Grid Reference: TM1742163123
OS Grid Coordinates: 617421, 263123
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2234, 1.1818
Explore more of the area around Debenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DEBENHAM HIGH STREET (west side)
TM 16 SE
6/108 No.52 (Lovejoys Antiques)
Former meeting hall of Ancient Order of Foresters, now antiques showroom.
Dated 1905; by Raymond Wrinch, architect of Ipswich (inscribed foundation
stone). Facade of white brick with stone dressings; remainder red brick.
Slated roof. 2 storeys. Unaltered 3-bay facade. On ground floor, 4 piers
with banded rustication, linked by a moulded first floor string course. Piers
carry coupled engaged Ionic columns which support an entablature and dentilled
pedimented gable. Side bays have sash windows with glazing bars and moulded
architraves with triple keys. Upper windows have broken pediments on
brackets. Centre has a tripartite panel, pedimented to match upper windows,
containing a coat of arms. Keyed oculus in gable. Moulded semi-circular
triple-keyed entrance arch with panelled soffit, carried on coupled columns.
Within, the original paired semi-glazed doors with cornice above, and flanking
sash windows. Interior. Gallery with bowed iron railings. A very prominent
building making an important contribution to the street. Included for group
Listing NGR: TM1742163123
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.