Description: Smyths House
Date Listed: 24 June 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 281540
OS Grid Reference: TM1811063285
OS Grid Coordinates: 618110, 263285
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2246, 1.1920
Explore more of the area around Debenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DEBENHAM KENTON ROAD
TM 16 SE
4/116 Nos. 1 & 2, Smyths House
Former farmhouse, now 2 dwellings. C15, the parlour cell slightly enlarged
c.1600. Renovated and sub-divided 1986-87, work continuing at time of survey
(June 1987). Timber framed and rendered; small remains of old plaster lined
to imitate ashlar. Plaintiled roof: concrete tiles to front, clay tiles to
rear. A former open hall house of 3-cell form. 2 storeys. Casement windows
without glazing bars, inserted 1986. 2 mid C20 boarded doors. 2 small flush
rooflights. Internal stack, the shaft rebuilt mid C20. Lean-to additions to
right and to rear, the latter of flint and brick. Interior. Largely intact
frame, the hall with a mid rail. Open truss has cambered tie beam with
massive arched braces, the rear portion partly cut away; the tie beam carries
a crown-post of cross-quadrate section, with 2-way bracing to the collar
purlin. Intact coupled rafters. Part of one hall window with diamond
mullions and evidence for the other; evidence for cross-entry doorways.
Timbers in service partition concealed. Upper end wall of hall has moulded
and embattled dais beam (largely obscured by the stack which was inserted
against it) and remains of the 2-centre arched doorway into the parlour. All
C15 hall timbers are heavily sooted. C15 joists in parlour and service ends.
Inserted hall ceiling has axial bridging beam and chamfered joists, perhaps
late C16. Formerly known as Camp Green Farmhouse.
Listing NGR: TM1811063285
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.