Description: The Old Griffin
Date Listed: 14 July 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 281696
OS Grid Reference: TM1179967000
OS Grid Coordinates: 611799, 267000
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2604, 1.1021
Explore more of the area around Wetheringsett-cum-Brockford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
WETHERINGSETT-CUM-BROCKFORD BROCKFORD STREET (east
TM 16 NW side)
6/111 The Old Griffin
House, latterly the Griffin Inn (closed as public house in early 1960's).
Early C16, extended to right in C17 to form a 2-cell, lobby entry house.
Various later additions, notably one of 1980's to rear which joins the house
to a C19 barn, now part of the living accommodation. Timber framed and
plastered, pantiled roof. 2 storeys and attic. Mid C20 2-light windows with
diamond-leaded panes. C20 flat-roofed one-storey porch with battened plank
door. Internal stack with axial shaft, the lower half rendered. One-storey
addition set forward to right, small colourwashed brick lean-to on left gable
end. Interior. Earlier work in 3 bays: good heavy studding with a mid rail
and reverse-curved braces. Evidence for diamond-mullioned windows on both
floors. 2-bay hall to left has good chamfered ceiling joists. Stack inserted
into part of lower bay of this room, against the cross-passage; the hall has a
good open fireplace with moulded lintol. In right cell, front wall has
blocked C16 cross-entry doorway with 4-centre arched head. C16 bay has
slightly chamfered joists set flat; more irregular joists in C17 addition. On
the upper floor, slightly cambered tie beam over hall chamber, the braces
missing. Right gable of C16 range, now internal, has jowl corbels beneath
projecting ends of wallplates. Plain joists set flat to upper ceilings.
Coupled-rafter roof over C16 section. Newel stair, the treads of the lower
flight rebuilt in C20.
Listing NGR: TM1179967000
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.