Description: Mill Cottage
Date Listed: 29 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 281706
OS Grid Reference: TM1270066802
OS Grid Coordinates: 612700, 266802
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2582, 1.1152
Explore more of the area around Wetheringsett-cum-Brockford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
WETHERINGSETT-CUM-BROCKFORD CHURCH STREET
TM 16 NW
3/121 Mill Cottage
House, at one time divided into 2. Mid-late C16. Timber framed and rendered,
the left gable end and rear with old plasterwork. Thatched roof, hipped to
left. 2-cell, lobby entry type. 2 storeys and attic. 3 windows, mid C20
casements with diamond leaded panes. Mid C20 studded plank door. Stack has
rebuilt shaft. Interior. Exposed 3-bay frame with reverse-curved braces and
evidence for original windows, including an oriel sill in rear of right hand
chamber. In rear wall of left cell is an additional original doorway with
arched head, an unusual feature. Both ground floor rooms have chamfered-joist
ceilings. Back-to-back open fireplaces on ground floor, both C16 lintols cut
down in length; the lintol in the right room has multiple roll moulding.
There is evidence to suggest the stack is of C17 date and was preceded by a
timber flue in the same position. C19 upper ceiling in right cell. C19 stair
in left cell, the original stair probably removed when the house was
subdivided. The name of the house, and its unusual siting over a small
watercourse, suggest it was associated with a watermill but no firm evidence
for this is known.
Listing NGR: TM1270066802
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.