Description: Town Farmhouse
Date Listed: 14 July 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 281714
OS Grid Reference: TM1346464604
OS Grid Coordinates: 613464, 264604
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2382, 1.1249
Explore more of the area around Wetheringsett-cum-Brockford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
WETHERINGSETT-CUM-BROCKFORD PARK GREEN
TM 16 SW
5/129 Town Farmhouse
Former farmhouse. Early C14 core with alterations of early C16 and C17.
Timber framed and rendered, thatched roof. 3 cells. 1½ storeys. Mid C20
casement windows without glazing bars. 2 doorways: boarded half-door to left,
plank door to right; both are enclosed by mid C20 lean-to porches. 2 dormers.
Stack has mid C20 shaft. Interior. Core comprises part of an aisled hall
from which the aisles have been removed. Front arcade plate has good stop-
splayed scarf joint with transverse key and sallied butts, and a short bridled
scarf with splayed butts. Between these joints is the cut-off end of one
original tie-beam, not associated with a bay division. 2 original straight
braces to arcade posts at front, evidence for others at both front and rear.
Present form of house largely results from early C16 remodelling when aisles
removed and studded walls added beneath arcade plates. Inserted open truss
shows reversed assembly; intact tie beam with steeply-curved braces. C16
plain joists in room to left of stack, with original trimming for ladder
stair. Open hall floored over in C17 and divided into 2 rooms. Centre room,
the new hall, has axial bridging beam with grooved ogee stop-chamfers and
plain joists set flat. Irregular rafters in front slope, the majority
probably medieval; rafters in rear slope concealed. This is the oldest house
in the parish and a rare in-situ survival of part of an aisled house.
Listing NGR: TM1346464604
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.