Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 15 November 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 281761
OS Grid Reference: TL9805669024
OS Grid Coordinates: 598056, 269024
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2837, 0.9022
Explore more of the area around Langham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 96 SE LANGHAM
4/16 Church of St Mary
Parish church. C14 and C19. In random kidney flint; freestone dressings.
slack glazed Plaintiles to nave and porch, clay plaintiles to chancel. Nave,
chancel, bellcote at west end, south porch, and a vestry on the south side of
the chancel, all, apart from the chancel, Victorian. Stepped buttresses to
nave, diagonal buttresses to east end of chancel. Ornate crosses at east end,
above chancel arch, and surmounting belfry. Nave, reconstructed in 1877, has
2-light windows with plate tracery, but retains a blocked C14 north doorway
with chamfered continuous arch. C14 chancel: the base of the walls with
alternating squares of black knapped flint and freestone; 2 2-light windows to
north and south with a 4-petalled flower in the cusped traceried heads; 3-
light east window, restored 1887, has a large circle enclosing 4 unencircled
quatrefoils. Interior fittings mainly Victorian. Fine octagonal C14 font,
reminiscent of that at Badwell Ash: high base; shaft with trefoil panelling to
each face; bowl with shields and grotesque faces alternating in ogee-headed
panels; crenellated top. Rood stairs to the north side of the chancel arch.
Fine, but damaged, screen: tracery and remains of colouring on the base; ogee-
headed single light divisions with droplets, and close panel tracery above
them; coving, and part of the traceried loft parapet reset on top. To each
side of the east window a long narrow niche with flamboyant ogee head. A
piscina in the south wall has a restored cusped ogee head with HK 1875
inscribed on it. All the chancel windows have old crown glass, mainly in
diamond leaded panes. On the north wall of nave, a small brass to John Jolley
(d.1630), benefactor of the poor of Langham. The vestry to the south of the
chancel has a crenellated top with plain flushwork panels and an external
doorway which seems to be the C14 priest's doorway reused: a continuous arch
with chamfered moulding and hoodmould.
Listing NGR: TL9805669024
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.