Description: Low Farmhouse
Date Listed: 17 March 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 282017
OS Grid Reference: TM4587581217
OS Grid Coordinates: 645875, 281217
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3738, 1.6108
Explore more of the area around Uggeshall, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 48 SE
Former farmhouse. 1565, for Robert Crowfoot: the front ana rear wallposts in
the parlour are carved respectively with the date and name 'Robart Crofot'.
Restored from 3 cottages in 1960's. Timber framed and plastered, pantiled
roof. 2 storeys and attics. 3 cell form, originally with cross-passage
entry. Most of the windows have roll-moulded mullions and diamond-leaded
glass: some are original, others including the large ground floor windows are
mid C20 copies. Lobby entrance with mid C20 plank door in early frame with
arched head; the doorway to the cross-passage has been blocked although the
doorframe is still visible. Internal stack and external stack to right hand
gable end. Interior with good exposed framing and joists. The hall and
parlour have good fireplaces with the original timber lintols; the heads of
the wallposts in both these rooms are carved with rectangular panels with
fluting beneath, the panels in the parlour containing the date and name
referred to above. On the first floor is a section of re-used plank and
muntin screen and a matching door over which is a baluster-type grill. Newel
stairs; original floorboarding and some original doors. The roof has clasped
and butt purlins, with arched wind-bracing between. A rare example of a dated
house also bearing the name of the original owner. The will of Robert
Crowfoot, dated 1572, is preserved at the County Record Office, Ipswich.
Listing NGR: TM4587581217
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.