Description: Church of St Peter
Date Listed: 1 September 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 282092
OS Grid Reference: TM3783280175
OS Grid Coordinates: 637832, 280175
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3680, 1.4921
Explore more of the area around Spexhall, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 38 SE SPEXHALL CHURCH LANE
2/18 Church of St. Peter
Parish church. C12, C15, C18, C19 and early C20. Random flint, with plaintiled
roofs. Nave, chancel, south porch, and round battlemented west tower which is
a rebuild of 1911 of the earlier tower, said to be Saxon, which fell in 1725.
The remainder of the church is basically Norman. Norman north doorway to nave
with simple, partly defaced, carving to the arch. Early C14 south doorway,
with multiple continuous mouldings, inside a porch rebuilt in 1733.
Perpendicular 2-light windows. The east wall was rebuilt in 1713 and has a
trellis pattern of red brick on flint, and 2 stepped diagonal buttresses, that
on the south-east dated June 18th, 1713. The 3-light east window with panel
tracery was inserted in 1876. Over the priest's door on the south side of the
chancel is a flying buttress added in 1888. Extensively restored interior of
1876: the roof, pews, tiles and plaster are all of that date. A holy water
stoup to each side of the south door. An octagonal C15 font with low base,
panelled shaft, and quatrefoils with shields round the bowl. Piscinae in the
nave and chancel have identical cinquefoil cusping to the heads and chamfered
jambs with broach stops. C15 heraldic glass in the north west window of the
nave. The doorway and part of the stairs to the rood are in the north wall of
the nave beside the panelled, but much restored, C17 pulpit. In front of the
nave benches, the remains of 2 C15 benches with poppyheads and the remains of
a further 4 pairs in the chancel. A section of Jacobean panelling against the
north wall of the chancel. The stained glass in the east window is a memorial
to Queen Victoria. On the south nave wall, brasses commemorating John and
Maria Browne and their family: 1591, 1593 and 1601.
Listing NGR: TM3783280175
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.