Description: Barn Immediately to the West of Bleach Farmhouse
Date Listed: 23 April 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 282124
OS Grid Reference: TM3735079557
OS Grid Coordinates: 637350, 279557
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3626, 1.4846
Explore more of the area around Wissett, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 37 NE WISSETT
5/50 Barn immediately to the
- west of Bleach Farmhouse
Barn. Dated inside on a beam 1772. Timber-framed on a high brick plinth,
part with timbers exposed outside and C20 brick infilling; part with old
render; weatherboarding on north gable. Roof of C20 corrugated aluminium.
The frame is in 4 bays, the northernmost having been storied from the outset
for a stable and hayloft; entry in the 2nd bay from the south. Bisected
studs; slightly curved primary braces; no middle rail. Trusses with straight
tie-beams and long arched braces, bolted. Roof in 4 bays, with a ridge-piece
and principal rafters set on edge; 2 rows of unstepped butt purlins, some of
triangular section. Above the entry on the west side the wallplate is painted
with red ochre and inscribed in white lettering 'Erected by Peter Spark and
John Crow, Town Reeves, 1772'. This refers to the Town Trust; of Alburgh, in
Norfolk, to which Bleach Farm belonged at the time.
Listing NGR: TM3735079557
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.