Description: Church of St Margaret
Date Listed: 27 November 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 282372
OS Grid Reference: TM4766397814
OS Grid Coordinates: 647663, 297814
Latitude/Longitude: 52.5219, 1.6493
Explore more of the area around Somerleyton, Ashby and Herringfleet, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
HERRINGFLEET ST. OLAVES ROAD
TM 49 NE
1/21 Church of St. Margaret
Parish church. Medieval with C19 restoration. Nave, chancel, west tower,
south porch. Flint rubble, cement-rendered except for the tower; stone
dressings. Thatched roofs to nave and porch, glazed black pantiles to
chancel. Round tower, in 2 phases, neither later than C11. The lower part
has coursed rubblework and later slit windows at 2 levels. Above a stone
string course is the belfry stage: there are 4 openings, each with 2
triangular-headed lights separated by a circular shaft. 3 of the openings are
set within semi-circular arched recesses, with colonnettes to the jambs and a
billet frieze down the sides; the eastern opening is not treated in this way
and the lights are larger. At the south west and north west are later lancets
in red brick. Semi-circular tower arch with billet decoration to the west.
Good C12 south nave doorway with 2 orders of colonnettes, abaci with saltire
crosses and an arch with roll-moulding and chevron ornament. To the north the
nave has an unmoulded doorway (blocked) and a lancet window, both of C13 date.
The other nave windows (one to north, 2 to south) are late C15/early C16, each
with 2 square-headed lights. One small C12 window to north chancel; 2 later
windows to south, one of brick and square-headed. 3-light Perpendicular-style
east window with a transom, inserted early C19. Interior. Both roofs are
ceiled over. In the sanctuary a trefoil-arched piscina. Font installed
c.1860. Substantially re-furnished by John Francis Leathes from 1824 onwards:
poppyhead-type benches in nave and chancel, panelling against the walls. West
gallery also of this date but altered 1982. The east window contains imported
fragments of painted glass, mostly obtained from Cologne; they are said to
date from the late C14 to early C18. The south east chancel window has 2 good
stained glass figures. Several wall monuments to the Leathes family, notably
John Leathes (1787) on south chancel wall. 3 hatchments to the same family at
the west end of the nave.
Listing NGR: TM4766397814
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.