Description: Clare Priory
Date Listed: 19 December 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 282925
OS Grid Reference: TL7696444990
OS Grid Coordinates: 576964, 244990
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0750, 0.5808
Explore more of the area around Clare, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
1. GLARE Clare Priory
TL 74 NE 18/127
TL 74 SE 116/127 19.12.61.
Clare Priory was founded in 1248 by Richard de Clare Earl of Clare, Gloucester
and hereford, as a Friary for the Friars Eremites of St Augustine and a cell
to the Abbey of Bec in Normandy. It was reconstituted by Edward II in 1326 as
a cell to St Peter's Westminster, converted into a college in 1490 by Edmund,
Earl of March and made into a dwelling house by Sir Thomas Barnardiston in 1604
(This is recorded by initials and the date carved on a panel of the upstairs
panelled room). The house is timber-framed and plastered with a C14 stone font
to the west, with heavy buttresses and a C14 doorway, pointed arched with an old
door and an ogee-headed wicket inset. 2 storeys and attics. The windows are
multi-light, some mullioned and transomed, some mullioned, with arched lights,
with leaded lights. The east front has gabled wings at the north and south ends,
with 3 smaller gabled wings between them. The windows are mainly 3-light casements
with segmental arched heads and leaded lights. Some mullioned and transomed
windows, with leaded lights. Roof tiled, with 4 large gabled dormers with 5-light
casement windows with leaded lights on the west front, and a number of octagonal
shafted chimney stacks. At the back entrance is an early traceried window with
an old door and inside a groin vaulted ceiling (being part of the original cloisters).
There is a fine C17 panelled room with an arcaded overmantle. In the C18 and
C19 the priory was owned by the Baker family whose arms, in stained glass, is
set in one of the mullioned and transomed windows. The hall has fine late C15
carved ceiling beams and there is part of a C14 staircase. At the rear, to the
south-west of the priory there is a good C18 room built into the old priory walls.
It has stone dressed mullioned and transomed windows with leaded lights. The
roof is ogee shaped, tiled, with a ball finial.
Listing NGR: TL7696444990
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.