Description: Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 14 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 284095
OS Grid Reference: TL8605869733
OS Grid Coordinates: 586058, 269733
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2942, 0.7269
Explore more of the area around Timworth, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 86 NE TIMWORTH
2/32 Church of St. Andrew
Parish church, in an isolated position-off the road. C13 and C14, extensively
restored 1868 at the sole expense, and in the characteristic style, of the
then incumbent, the Rev. E.R. Benyon. Nave and chancel, south tower, the base
serving as a porch, and north vestry; the tower in rubble flint, the nave and
chancel mainly in kidney flint, with freestone dressings and quoins.
Plaintiled roofs. On the south side of the nave there is evidence of a
blocked earlier window, and the rubble is coursed at the bottom of the wall.
Simple pointed C13 arch with continuous mouldings to north doorway and 2
lancets on the north wall of the chancel; the remaining window tracery is all
Victorian replacement. Early C14 south doorway with continuous mouldings, and
on the surrounding arch, which forms part of the north wall of the tower, a
number of C18 graffiti. The C14 tower was added on the south, since the west
end of the nave is too near the boundary of the churchyard to fit it in on the
west. 3 stages; C19 flushwork panels around the base and south doorway;
diagonal buttresses; plain embattled parapet. A scratch-dial on a projecting
square-set block of stone at the bottom of the second stage of the south-east
buttress. Heavily restored interior: roof, benches and font all renewed. But
a fine set of late C17 altar rails with barley-sugar twist balusters, and a
short flight of steps up to the pulpit with the same balusters. Handsome
Baroque pulpit; hexagonal, with panelled sides, winged cherub heads supporting
the base, and acanthus-leaf decoration around the top. Said to have come from
St. James' Church, Bury St. Edmunds, it has been adapted, with mid-Victorian
applied panels in Gothic style and a renewed stone base. Large painted and
framed arms of William III on the south wall.
Listing NGR: TL8605869733
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.