Description: The Old House
Date Listed: 25 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 285087
OS Grid Reference: TM3775161260
OS Grid Coordinates: 637751, 261260
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1983, 1.4776
Explore more of the area around Benhall, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 36 SE BENHALL MITFORD ROAD (south side)
2/26 The Old House (formerly
25.10.51 listed as Old School House)
Former school house, now a private dwelling. Dated 1736 on tablet above door;
substantial early C20 alterations and additions. Red brick, plaintile roof. 2
storeys and attic. Original house: 5 window range, sashes with glazing bars in
flush frames, flat brick arches. Central doorway with original stone panelled
architrave and cornice supported on console brackets; C19 half-glazed door.
Over the doorway is an inscribed stone tablet supported laterally by consoles
and headed by a broken pediment on console brackets, within which is a
cartouche. To right of entrance is another inscribed stone tablet dated 1829.
Coved plaster cornice; later mansard roof with 3 flat-roofed dormers. Addition
to left hand side with curved Dutch style gable: 2 storeys and attic, single
window range, sashes with small panes; between this and the original house is a
flat-roofed section with semi-circular headed windows at ground and first floor
levels and a circular window above. Interior with fine C18 mantelpieces,
apparently later importations. Boundary wall to south of house surmounted by
carved stone consoles. The tablet above the door reads "Sr. Edward Duke Late
of this Parish Baronet. having by his Will Bequeathed A Thousand Pounds for the
Building of A School & Maintenance, for A Master for ye Time being, to Instruct
the Poore Children belonging to this Parish to Read & Write, in Persuance there
to, this House was Erected by Edmund Tyrell Esq. (only Executor of the Said Sir
Edmund Duke) in ye Year of Our Lord 1736."
Listing NGR: TM3775161260
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.