Description: Butley Abbey and Priory Gate House
Date Listed: 16 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 285145
OS Grid Reference: TM3747449368
OS Grid Coordinates: 637474, 249368
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0917, 1.4653
Explore more of the area around Butley, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 34 NE BUTLEY BUTLEY PRIORY
5/2 Butley Abbey & Priory Gate
(Formerly listed as Butley Abbey
GV I Gatehouse under General)
Mansion former gatehouse to Butley Abbey. Early C14. Converted to residential
use c.1734. Restored again in 1926 by E.D. Caroe. Stone and knapped flint with
stone quoins and dressings. Roof raised in red brick to continuous springing:
slated. Two storeys. The main gabled carriageway runs north-south. The north
front is flanked by two stages of the original buttressed towers which project
forward. The south gabled front projects beyond the rear rooms of the towers.
The north front has 2 sham windows in Decorated tracery either side of a
similar glazed window. The sham windows are filled with flushwork. Below the
windows is an armorial panel of thirty-five shields in five rows. The north
towers each have a sham Decorated window above which is a straight headed
window with 3 ogee headed lights. The original carriageway entrance has a
depressed moulded pointed arch on stone ashlar jambs. To the left is a
pedestrian entrance with pointed arch: both entrances are filled with timber
studs, mullion windows and red herringbone brick infill. The south front has
similar sham windows to those of the north and also a carriageway doorway of
similar style with modern entrance door. The left and right hand rooms behind
the towers have C18 sash windows in flush frames with glazing bars and gauged
brick arches and red brick jambs Inside the main carriageway the ceiling is
vaulted with stone ribs and stone infill; the smaller rooms either side are
also vaulted with brick infill in domed form. There is also a fine Georgian
staircase and some Elizabethan panelling. The Abbey was founded in 1171 by
Ranulph de Glanville, Justiciar of Henry II and the gatehouse is considered
"one of the most ambitious and interesting buildings of the C14 in Suffolk". N.
Pevsner (see The Buildings of England, Suffolk volume). The whole complex of
the Abbey and Priory is fully documented and described in Journal of the Royal
Archaeological Institute of Gt. Britain and Ireland, 1934, by Messrs. J.L.N.
Meyers and J.B. Ward Perkins.
Listing NGR: TM3747449368
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.