Description: Kiln Farmhouse
Date Listed: 31 August 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 285434
OS Grid Reference: TM2351248723
OS Grid Coordinates: 623512, 248723
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0917, 1.2614
Explore more of the area around Great Bealings, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
GREAT BEALINGS (Off) LOWER STREET
TM 24 NW
4/70 Kiln Farmhouse
House, formerly farmhouse. C16 or early C17 with addition of c.1813 (dated
on right hand side). Timber framed with brick skin and red Flemish bond
brick with pantile roof. Entrance front: of c.1813. Three bays
symmetrically disposed, divided by pilasters with similar pilasters at far
right and left. Slightly projecting plinth which dies back by an offset
and rendered and grooved in imitation of ashlar. Stone band between the
floors. To the ground floor at centre is a C20 doorway with panelled
surround, the door having 6 panels. To either side of this are sash
windows of 3x4 panes with flat arched heads of rubbed brick. These are set
in slightly recessed panels around which are relieving arches, which have
rubbed brick voussoirs to their basket arches. To the first floor are
three sash windows of 3x4 panes with flat-arched heads. Deep eaves above
and hipped roof. The right hand side of this front range is blank, save
for the date and the initials W.B. and W.D. cut into bricks. C20 extension
at right of this with a tripartite door surround, the central glazed door
having side lights. Two-light casement to the first floor. Recessed and
at right of this is the C16 wing which is rendered and has a glazed C20
doorway to the ground floor at right and above this a single-light and a 2-
light casement window. The left hand side has sash windows to the right
with ground and first floor sash windows of 3x4 panes which have been
inserted in the C20 and to left of this 2-light C20 casement windows to the
ground floor. To left again is a single-storey porch which has a glazed
door and crow-stepped gable above. To left of this are two 2-light
casements and to the first floor a 2-light and a single-light casement,
with a band of 2 bricks depth at the level of their sill.
Interior: the staircase hall has a staircase of two flights with a 1/4-
landing, having stick balusters, a ramped handrail and wreathed curtail.
The cornice to the lower hall is dentilled with moulded brackets. To the
C16/C17 wing are chamfered ceiling beams with stepped run-out stops and
similarly moulded joists. Jowled wall posts to the first floor of this
wing and one door frame with 4-centered arch, probably of Cl9 date,
cambered tie beams one with closed truss above. Some re-used timbers.
Arched wind braces and collars with staggered purlins to the roof.
Listing NGR: TM2351248723
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.