Description: Street Farmhouse
Date Listed: 25 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 285808
OS Grid Reference: TM2322362872
OS Grid Coordinates: 623223, 262872
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2188, 1.2665
Explore more of the area around Earl Soham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 26 SW EARL SOHAM BRANDESTON ROAD
Farmhouse. Late C15/early C16 to rear; late C16 main range,
extended to left hand side in C18 and with later remodelling to
righthand side. Timber framed and plastered, the plaster mostly
lined in imitation of ashlar; slated roof to main range,
plaintiled to right hand wing, pantiles to earlier rear range. 2
storeys. 2 windows to main range, good C18 3-light and 6-light
mullion and transom casements with square leaded panes, the 2
centre lights bowed; lobby entrance with 6-panel raised and
fielded door, frieze, cornice and triangular pediment; internal
stack. To the right hand side is a lower range set forward with
a hipped roof: 2 window range with full-height canted bays and
mainly C20 windows. To the rear is a 3-bay late medieval range,
originally jettied on 3 sides: internally a section of the jetty
with its carved bressummer is still visible together with part of
an original doorway with carved spandrels and a mutilated sill
of a ground floor oriel window; this part has good internal
timbering and a crown post roof (moulded cap to crown post).
First floor of main range with part of a late C17 fresco
depicting 2 scenes based on the downfall of Troy; the fresco has
been cut through by a later staircase, access to which is gained
by an unusual door, curved to form a quarter circle. Residence
of the C18 diarist William Goodwin.
Listing NGR: TM2322362872
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.