Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 16 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 285970
OS Grid Reference: TM2176548088
OS Grid Coordinates: 621765, 248088
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0867, 1.2355
Explore more of the area around Playford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 24 NW PLAYFORD
4/8 Church of St. Mary
Church. Mainly c.1400; the chancel was rebuilt 1874. Nave, chancel, south
west tower/porch, north organ chamber. Flint rubble, with some random
limestone rubble, and in the tower some brick of various colours. Plaintiled
roofs with parapet gables. Apart from the earlier C14 plain blocked north
doorway, all mediaeval features are of late C14 and early C15. Fine late C14
tower, placed against the south nave doorway, serving also as the south porch.
The moulded outer doorway has repeated crown motifs at the jambs, an angel
keystone and a square label supported by lions; in the spandrels are the arms
of Sir George Felbrigge (died 1400). Above the doorway is an image niche with
pinnacled canopy. The 2-light ringing chamber window has a gabled and
traceried head. On the south face is a pair of belfry openings, one on either
side of a floreated cross outlined in flushwork. The diagonal buttresses are
also flushwork-panelled. Large 3-light C15 south nave window, and similar
smaller windows in north and west walls. The inner south doorway and chancel
arch are both moulded and of c.1400. The chancel was rebuilt and the organ
chamber, added in 1874 for the Marquis of Bristol, in the Early English style.
In 1887 the nave was given a scissor-braced coupled-rafter roof to match that
in the chancel. Octagonal limestone font in the C14 manner; part of the stem
is original and well moulded, but the rest was renewed C19. Now affixed to
the north chancel wall is a fine brass of Sir George Felbrigge (died 1400) in
full armour. Above it is a wall tablet to Sir Anthony Felton (d.1657) and his
wife. In the chancel floor are 4 marble ledger slabs of C18 and early C19, to
members of the Felton family.
Listing NGR: TM2176548088
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.