Description: Thomas Mills Almshouses
Date Listed: 25 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 286400
OS Grid Reference: TM2833663313
OS Grid Coordinates: 628336, 263313
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2207, 1.3415
Explore more of the area around Framlingham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 26 SE FRAMLINGHAM STATION ROAD
4/122 Thomas Mills Almshouses
A row of 8 almshouses, built under the will of Thomas Mills of Framlingham
(d.1703), and completed by 1705. 2 storeys. Red brick with band; dark
headers; plaintiles, and a heavy modillion cornice. 4 internal chimney-stacks
with large plain red brick shafts. 20 windows, arranged in groups of 5, each
group having a single-light window with transome flanked by 2 cross windows on
each side. All the lights have square leaded panes. 8 recessed doors, with
applied bolection mouldings forming 2 panels, and simple moulded architraves:
a door set below the 2nd and 4th windows in each group of 5. Flat gauged
arches above the ground-storey windows and the doors. Thomas Mills, a
wheelwright and timber-merchant of Framlingham, and the leader of the Baptist
congregation there, bequeathed money for 6 almshouses; the money for the
remaining 2 was given by his lifelong friend, William Mayhew (a,1713).
Listing NGR: TM2833663313
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.